“We’re Airborne – We’re meant to be surrounded!”

I managed to save some money over the last couple of months to really treat my self some shiny plastic crack from Forgeworld. With a new 40k edition out and an urge to play some smaller skrimish games against a renowned genestealer cult in Thomas Bughunt Corridors I went for an Elysian detachment. This is my first kit from Forgeworld and although I’ve handled resin kits before this resin feels a bit odd to work with. At a price tag higher than most mortals would pay for toys I really think that transperancy and honesty should be central to a company in this hobby, and since I had some issues cleaning the resin I thought I’d share my points on this product.

To start with Forgeworld are famous for their minimalistic building instructions. The Elysian line is no exception to that rule, but thankfully the Drop Sentinel is quite an easy build and pretty much straight forward if you know how to build the official plastic one. It’s really only  a matter of adding chute vents or replacing cockpit parts. It took me about 15 minutes (drying time included). The infantry on the other hand are a bit more tedious. The fine detailed parts need to be dry fitted and have minor flash/mould lines removed in a few places. At this point the command squad took roughly a whole evening to build but since this was the first time I handled the different parts I think the next squad will assemble faster.

My biggest concern with this batch of figures was the washing and rinsing process of the mould release agent. I’ve heard some horror stories of the oily surface that won’t go away no matter how much you clean it and I think I hit the short straw with this kit. I have cleaned the infantry sprues 3 times (1 of which I bought another brand of not-so environmental friendly soap and had them soaked in a bath for 24hrs) but they still have a shiny surface on most helmets and arms. The torsos and legs on the other hand are matte – which makes me think that something is’nt quite right.
The sentinel have been washed 2 times and soaked in a hot soapy water for half a day but still comes out shiny and oily once dry. This disturbs me alot. Sure bad batches do occur now and then but I feel that the instructions Forgeworld published does’nt really confront the issue. All they say is that a couple of minutes in a bath of hot water with dish washing soap and some light brushing under running water will get rid of the release agent. I would have appreciated at least a warning or notice of some kind that alerts you on the chance of getting a bad cast. That way I could have kept my eyes open and save me the hours of assembly before noticing the unwashable surface. I’ve e-mailed the Forgeworld Support on the issue and await their answer.

That being said the detail and care put into this line is amazing and I’m really excited about how the miniatures will come out once painted. I will try to prime them and see if there’s a problem with the oily surface or if they are paintable. The poses are very dynamic and fitting for a modern assault force, every miniature feels like taken from a snapshot of a combat zone. I also bought the special weapons add on so I can gear up these lads to be a Veteran squad. Next order will probably involve another squad and some heavy weapon teams.

Here’s the command squad. Unfortunately the unprimed figures come out a bit bright on camera. They will be primed and painted off bases since I want to use the city fight bases that are already painted.

Elycmd1

Elycmd2

Here’s the Sentinel trembling forwards. The autocannon is magnetized and I will add the other weapon options later on. You can see the oily sheen of the surface on the fron of the cockpit.

Ely.drs1

Ely.drs2

Until later, take care!
/Fredrik

Leave a Reply

